Skip Navigation

Interlock House

Two students at the 2007 competition installing solar panels.

2007 Solar Decathlon Competition. Kaye Evans-Lutterodt / Solar Decathlon.

The U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon is a biennial competition which challenges teams to design, build, and operate the most attractive, effective, and energy-efficient solar-powered home. The 2009 competition is the fourth of its kind to be held.

Teams from twenty college and universities around the world will travel to the National Mall in Washington D.C., erect their houses, and compete in ten different contests to determine an overall winner.

The public is welcome and encouraged to attend the 2009 Solar Decathlon that will be held October 9-18, 2009, to learn more about energy efficiency, solar energy, and the houses themselves.

10 Contests

On the National Mall in Washington D.C., all 20 teams will be challenged in 10 contents to determine an overall winner. Juries of professionals in architecture, the homebuilding industry, engineering, and lighting design, as well as, industry experts, web developers, and public relations experts will judge the architecture, market viability, engineering, lighting, and communications categories. The home entertainment contest will be partially judged be neighbors on the Mall. All 10 contents are listed below:

  • Architecture
  • Market Viability
  • Engineering
  • Lighting Design
  • Communications
  • Comfort Zone
  • Hot Water
  • Appliances
  • Home Entertainment
  • Net Metering

20 Teams

Iowa State University is competing against 19 other teams to see whose solar-powered home is the most innovative, attractive, and energy-efficient. Below are the other teams participating in the 2009 competition:

  • Cornell University
  • The Ohio State University
  • The University of Arizona
  • Penn State
  • Universidad de Puerto Rico
  • Rice University
  • Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
  • Team Alberta (University of Calgary / SAIT Polytechnic / Alberta College of Art + Design / Mount Royal College)
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Team Boston (Boston Architectural College / Tufts University)
  • University of Kentucky
  • Team California (Santa Clara University / California College of the Arts)
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Team Missouri (Missouri University of Science and Technology / University of Missouri)
  • University of Minnesota
  • Team Ontario/BC (University of Waterloo / Ryerson University / Simon Fraser University)
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • Virginia Tech
Map of the world
Major sponsors Iowa State University U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon U.S. Department of Energy National Renewable Energy Laboratory